SWANS®SONG

Home of Dr. Christine B. Whelan

Are You A Little Bit Married?

Via my friend Ian Shapira, I e-met author and journalist Hannah Selgison as her excellent new book, A Little Bit Married: How to Know When It’s Time to Walk Down the Aisle or Out the Door, came out last week. This is an useful and informative book for SWANS® (Strong Women Achievers, No Spouse) who are sailing in circles in long-term relationships that don’t seem to be going anywhere.

Check out my HuffingtonPost blog about the book and my three top bits of advice for women who are “a little bit married” and struggling with what to do next.

For smart, successful women, you’re odds of marriage are great. (Want to know how great? Use my Odds-of-Marriage Indicator based on Census data to find out. And just out today, a report on marriage and divorce rates for college-educated women.) For more good news for SWANS–and advice on how to achieve your personal and professional goals–check out Marry Smart: The Intelligent Woman’s Guide to True Love and A Little Bit Married today!

January 26, 2010 - Posted by | Academic Musings, Marry Smart: The Intelligent Woman's Guide to True Love, Relationship Tips | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. You are a genius. Every single woman out there that has been shacking up with that waffler for years and years secretly hoping he will pop the question needs to know. It is not a matter of whether or not YOU (the woman) are rushing to get married. Marriage is not the ultimate goal in a woman’s life- we have other priorities. HOWEVER, any woman that wastes her youth devoting her life to some man with no plan for permanence in her life is a FOOL. We get older and have fewer relationship options. They get older and start dating 20 year olds. Their options expand. WAKE UP ladies. I made that mistake once too. I didn’t NEED to get married. I married last year at 30. I made sure my boyfriend (at the time) knew that he had better have a plan and that if he wasn’t serious, that I would begin seeing other people after a certain time. No hard feelings at all, but he wasn’t going to waste my youth. We were not going to “play house.”
    A russian girlfriend once told me that a man knows if he wants to be with you for the rest of his life within a few months of dating you. No matter what they tell you it is true. My husband secretly confessed. We dated for 2 years.
    I told him that I know the value of my stock and what I brought to the table and that I WAS NOT going to sit around and wait for 3,4,5, 6 years for him to decide this for me.
    We are very happy.

    Comment by b | February 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment