SWANS®SONG

Home of Dr. Christine B. Whelan

Thank Your Wives, You Lucky Bastards!

Yesterday, the good folks at Pew put out a report about the “new economics” of marriage: Women are more likely than ever to earn more and have more education than their spouses.

The New York Times went into a tizzy about how this is terrible news for smart, successful women. But why does this have to be bad news? (I liked this posting complaining about the piece, too)

Maybe it’s time men started to really appreciate what we’re bringing to the table! Check out my analysis of the Pew report on the Huffington Post today.

January 20, 2010 - Posted by | Academic Musings, Marry Smart: The Intelligent Woman's Guide to True Love, Relationship Tips | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Dear Dr. Whelan :

    I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and Feminists everywhere for setting me free. I have no wife. Thanks to the efforts largely of Feminists the Charm Quotient of the female half of the species has taken a nose dive. In short beyond the obvious reasons I have no interest in women anymore. I know to many of your readers that will seem like a bad thing. Trust me when I tell you it isn’t. It’s empowering.

    I can keep ALL my money and do exactly as I damn well please now.

    Thanks again.

    S.T.

    Comment by spacedteacher | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Dear Dr.Whelan :

    My apologies I forgot to ask you to convey my purrrrsss to Chairman Meow.

    It’s nice to see that you have a sense of humor.

    S.T.

    Comment by spacedteacher | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] Dr. Christine Whelan, author of Why Smart Men Marry Smart Women tells men to “say thank you, you lucky bastards.“ […]

    Pingback by Lisen's Blog – An Angle of PrismWork | April 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment